Listen to Mom – Why I Want To Work With Gen Y

I’ve now been working with Gen Ys for a couple of years and I must say you’re a pretty amazing bunch. As Baby Boomers, we pretty much dominated the work place for most of my work life so I could easily relate to how we all did business.

Then entered Gen X. I couldn’t understand what they were or are about. But Gen Ys–I admire how smart you are, how ambitious, and your desire to have meaningful work. I totally get what you are even before I read Money’s Generation Y: They’ve arrived at work with a new attitude. I immediately felt that difference when I first met the 20-somethings in our organization.

I feel the vibrancy of new ideas, ideas that can make big changes in my old bureaucratic organization if only the Baby Boomers in power will allow it. I applaud you. I want more of you hired at my workplace. I want Gen Ys to change the face of how big organizations do business. And I want to mentor you to be successful at work place politics until you become the bosses.

Gen Ys invigorate me. You inspire me to do more outside of the box. Truly. But I’m a Baby Boomer minority. My advice is don’t be discouraged at how Baby Boomers work. I’ve learned that it takes time for change to take root. I’m even waiting for my older Baby Boomers to retire so that us younger Baby Boomers can make changes.

It always helps to know and understand the boss. This might give you some insight on Boomers and probably your parents.

I look forward to more from you. Hang in there! (A popular Baby Boomer poster from 70’s.)

3 responses »

  1. This is an awesome post! I like how she instantly “gets” what we Millennials are about. But I have one minor quibble: Aren’t Millennials the most diverse generation as well? She’s kind of talking about us like we’re all alike! But, I totally agree with the part where she’s talking about how smart we are, and that we want to find meaningful work. Maybe we’re just all alike in those ways?

    I really like your blog. Thank you for your great writing!

  2. Thank you for your comment. You are absolutely correct. However, I was writing of the general characteristics I’ve discerned from working with the few Millennials in my organization. The ones that really impressed me. According to the training (yes, there is actually training to learn about the different generations in the workplace), your generation is also the most educated. I’m sure your parents are all very proud of you.

  3. Thanks for the article! 🙂 I always regain hope for humanity when I see a post like this. My friends and I always reach a conclusion, that there’s no way of making a difference until our generation basically takes over.

Leave a comment